Introducing the CGMA Finance Leadership Program

To earn the CGMA designation, you’ll need to complete the CGMA Finance Leadership Program. This digital-first learning program is similar in scope and rigor to a master’s degree. You’ll learn the finance, business, digital, people and leadership skills that employers are looking for, today and in the future. Watch a virtual tour of the CGMA Finance Leadership Program below.


Here's how it works

Explore the experience. Convenient, personalized and comprehensive, the program offers an intuitive interface, compelling content and trackable progress. Watch a short demo here.

Begin your CGMA Finance Leadership Program journey today.

Want to learn more about the CGMA Finance Leadership Program?


Why choose the CGMA Finance Leadership Program?

Get the skills that employers say matter
The CGMA Finance Leadership Program will teach you the skills that 2,000 finance teams have identified as being critical for your career.    

Finance professionals created it for finance professional
You can apply what you learn to the larger business context right away, with all topics taught through scenarios, interactive exercises and business simulation. Written by authors with years of firsthand professional experience in finance and business, the courses are also developed and backed by AICPA and CIMA, the world’s two largest and influential accounting and finance associations.

Learn in your own time, at your own pace
Unlike traditional programs, the CGMA Finance Leadership Program was designed from scratch for working professionals. Everything is online — including most of the exams. You can study when you want, wherever you are, and even learn the topics in whichever order you like.

Build on your existing knowledge
The CGMA Finance Leadership Program builds on your background, so you can start the program at the entry point that’s right for you — no need to repeat any of your learning.

Priced to be accessible
If your employer is helping fund your studies, there’s good news: the CGMA Finance Leadership Program is priced within the range of most corporate tuition reimbursement policies. You can expect to pay between $2,500 and $5,000, depending on how long it takes you to complete the program.

How to earn the CGMA designation

Getting started
There are four steps to earning the CGMA® designation:

  1. Enroll in the CGMA Finance Leadership Program.
  2. Complete the coursework and case study exams.
  3. Complete three years of practical work experience.

Apply for the CGMA designation online via MyCGMA.

What do CGMA designation holders say?

“The CGMA Finance Leadership Program really pushed me to think about taking my knowledge one step further beyond just producing accurate financials.”

Susan Groover, CPA, CGMA — Associate Director — Revenue Accounting

Hear from more CGMA Finance Leadership Program graduates >


The Finance Leadership Program Structure

The CGMA Finance Leadership Program is divided into three levels, each building on the previous one. If you’ve already got a relevant prior qualification or degree, you may be eligible to skip certain levels, enabling you to earn your CGMA designation faster than you might think.  

Operational Level Management Level Strategic Level

The Operational level focuses on short-term decision-making. You’ll build your core knowledge of finance, accounting and reporting, studying topics like:

  • Data Analytics
  • Budgeting
  • Regulatory Framework
  • Cost Accounting
  • Finance Technologies

Start at the Operational level if you hold a bachelor’s degree or above in business.

At the Management level, you’ll focus on translating long-term decisions into medium-term plans. You’ll build on what you’ve learned at the Operational level to include topics like:

  • Cost Management
  • Financial Statement Analysis
  • Leadership and Management
  • Business Models
  • Organizational Performance

Start at the Management level if you hold a bachelor’s degree or above in accounting or finance.

At the Strategic level, you’ll focus on long-term strategic decision making, learning about risk and finance strategy. Key topics include:

  • Financial Objectives
  • Risk oversight
  • Internal Controls
  • Strategy formulation and execution
  • Regulatory Compliance

If you’re a CPA, you have the option to skip right to the CGMA Strategic Level Case Study Exam.

Exam: Operational Case Study Exam Exam: Management Case Study Exam Exam: Strategic Level Case Study Exam

Case Study exams

Completing the CGMA Finance Leadership Program is an outstanding accomplishment that allows you to showcase the new skills you have learned and bolster your resume. You must complete up to three exams to earn the CGMA designation. To prove you understand the concepts, all three exams offer a unique case study format with open-ended questions that allow test-takers to showcase their knowledge in a simulated business situation.

Exam quick links:

Three years of practical work experience

Once you’ve completed the CGMA Finance Leadership Program, you’ll need to show that you meet the practical experience requirement by logging three years of practical work experience. Then you can apply for your CGMA designation.

How much does the CGMA Finance Leadership Program cost?

The CGMA Finance Leadership Program is offered in one-, two- or three-year subscriptions. How long you need to enroll for will depend on what level you start at and how much time you’re able to dedicate to studying. Special pricing is available for CPAs.

If you start at the You will learn So we suggest For only 
Operational level All 3 levels A 3-year subscription $6375
A savings of 36% off of the annual price!
Management level 2 levels A 2-year subscription $4,250
A savings of 24% off of the annual price!
Strategic level 1 level  A 1-year subscription

Annual fee
Once you’ve earned your CGMA designation, there’s an annual fee of $395 to maintain it. As well as giving you the right to continue using the designatory letters, the fee also gives you access to exclusive learning and conferences, networking opportunities and discounts.

Maintaining your CGMA designation
The CGMA designation carries with it a lifelong commitment to professional development. Continuing Professional Education (CPE) is required for all CGMA designation holders to maintain the integrity and credibility of the designation and the profession.

The Continuing Professional Education policy does not prescribe a set number of hours or units. It simply asks that you do as much as you need to remain professionally competent and meet your career goals, record what you do and reflect on the outcome and effectiveness of your professional development activities.

Skills Core

The CGMA Finance Leadership Program also offers an alternative subscription as a learning only product which does not include exam credits or Case Study Review Course.  

This option allows the student to develop core competencies needed to accelerate your career and to earn skills certificates to show accomplishments. Entry point is dependent on qualifications, however all content across all the competencies is available to any student that subscribes.

Begin your CGMA Finance Leadership Program journey today.

Want to learn more about the CGMA Finance Leadership Program?