Become a CGMA designation holder

Take your career to the next level with the CGMA designation

The CGMA® letters are worth having after your name. They stand for Chartered Global Management Accountant® and they show employers that you mean business.

The CGMA designation is the most widely held management accounting designation in the world. It boldly announces your commercial skills, strategic vision and transformational mindset.

Employers, colleagues and stakeholders alike will recognize that you’ve got entrepreneurial and leadership acumen. That you’re in a pivotal position to analyze information, advise strategy and drive business success. And they’ll know all this just by looking at those four letters after your name.

 5 reasons to earn the CGMA designation

 1. Develop a globally in-demand career

Those four letters are recognized in every sector, in every corner of the globe. With 96% of FTSE Top 100 companies employing CGMA designation holders, you can rest assured that your designation will open doors to challenging, fast-paced, rewarding roles. 

2. Boost your earning prosepcts

Your professional reputation isn’t all that will soar once you earn the CGMA designation — most employees see a significant pay-raise upon completing the CGMA designation.

3. Unleash your potential

Set your sights high. Even higher than that. With the CGMA designation, your career opportunities are limitless. The skills you master will empower you to rise to any challenge you want, from helping business owners, CFOs and CEOs to becoming one yourself.

4. Be a leader, not a follower

It takes true strategic vision to lead. Once you’ve got your CGMA designation, analyzing and future-proofing an organization will be second-nature. You’ll be well-versed in sharing your vision while managing others and playing an active role in the leadership of the business.

5. Make a tangible difference

The CGMA designation teaches you the skills to make a real difference, whether that’s advising managers about the financial implications of projects or helping devise negotiation strategies. What you do every day will have a huge business impact.

How to become a CGMA designation holder

The CGMA designation is powered by two of the world’s leading accounting organizations — the American Institute of CPAs (AICPA®) and the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants (CIMA®). How you’ll study for your CGMA designation depends on where you live. The learning routes may be different, but they all test the same knowledge and lead to the same prestigious CGMA designation.

You’ll find the CGMA at companies such as:

  • CGMA’s are represented in 96% of FTSE top 100 companies in 2016
  • 91 of the Fortune 100 and 95 of the world’s top 100 brands choose CGMA designation holders*
    *Interbrand/Fortune/CIMA, 2013

Jumpstart your career today

There are two pathways to becoming a CGMA designation holder, each with education, experience and assessments designed to build on your existing knowledge and career achievements.

North America, Central America, South America

Europe, Middle East, Asia/Pacific or Africa